Andrea’s Experimental Kitchen – Katsudon

IMG_3436

Food serving and presentation is not my forte. I tried to salvage what I can from the wreckage.

With strong emphasis on the experimental. Yup this doesn’t look like your typical katsudon because I failed. This is what I get when I don’t read the instructions properly. That and the fact that I really can’t cook eggs to save my life.

My mistakes in a nutshell: too much egg and not enough sauce. Your egg should be floating comfortably in the liquid, not looking like an omelette. But at least I nailed the katsu, which really isn’t bad for my first try.

IMG_3434I followed this recipe from No Recipes with minor changes to compensate for things I can’t find in France. I used miso soup instead of dashi stock, because apparently miso soup has dashi in it. The sauce tasted fine as far as I’m concerned. For the breadcrumbs, I froze a piece of baguette and then grated it, it worked great for me.

Like I said before, the key of a good katsudon hinges on your dashi stock mix and egg ratio. I had greatly underestimated the amount of sauce I needed and I used 3.5 eggs instead. If you’re cooking for one you could comfortably get away with beating 2 eggs, use a bit of that to coat your katsu and the rest for the katsudon. The fine art of guesswork didn’t help me this time. Cooking is a difficult learning curve.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

